Charles Eustache McGaughey: to be High Commissioner for Canada to the Federation of Malaya, with concurrent accreditation as Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Canada to Burma and Thailand. Evan William Thistle Gill: to be High Commissioner for Canada in the Commonwealth of Australia. Charles Stewart Almon Ritchie: to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Canada to the United States of America. Jean Bruchési, Canadian Ambassador to Spain: to be accredited to Morocco. George Pirkis Kidd: to be concurrently Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Canada to Haiti. Bruce MacGillivray Williams: to be concurrently Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Canada to Togo, Ivory Coast, Upper Volta and Guinea. Thomas LeMesurier Carter: to be concurrently Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Canada to Senegal, Niger and Dahomey. Joseph-Louis-Eugène Couillard: to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Canada to Norway, with concurrent accreditation as Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Canada to Iceland. Jean-Louis Delisle: to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Canada concurrently to the Republic of El Salvador. Paul Bridle, Canadian Ambassador to Turkey: to be Canadian Commissioner in Laos, succeeding Léon Mayrand. Michel Gauvin; to be Charge d'Affaires of the Canadian Embassy in the Republic of the Congo (Leopoldville). Fulgence Charpentier: to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Canada to the Republic of Cameroun with concurrent accreditation as Ambassador to Chad, Gabon, Congo (Brazzaville) and the Central African Republic. Saul Forbes Rae: to be Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the European Office of the United Nations. George Ignatieff: to be Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the European Office of the North Atlantic Council. Arthur Julian Andrew: to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Canada to Israel, with concurrent accreditation as High Commissioner of Canada to Cyprus. Jules Léger: to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Canada to Italy. Paul Tremblay: to be Permanent Representative and Ambassador of Canada to the United Nations. John Kennett Starnes: to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Canada to the Federal Republic of Germany. James Joseph Hurley: to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Canada to South Africa.

National Defence—Chiefs of Staff.—1961. Aug. 16, Major-General G. Walsh: to be Chief of the General Staff, with the rank of Lieutenant-General, effective Oct. 1, 1961, vice Lieutenant-General S. F. Clark. 1962. Mar. 29, Acting Air Marshal Clarence Rupert Dunlap: to be Chief of the Air Staff, with the rank of Air Marshal, effective Sept. 15, 1962, vice Air Marshal Hugh Campbell.

Government Appointments to Miscellaneous Boards, Commissions, etc.

Air Transport Board.—1962. Mar. 27, G. Russell Boucher, Ottawa, Ont.: to be a member, vice A. D. McLean, from Apr. 2, 1962.

Army Benevolent Fund Board.—1961. Nov. 23, Alex Walker and A. J. Wickens: to be again members for a term of four years from Dec. 3, 1961.

Atomic Energy Control Board.—1961. Oct. 18, George C. Laurence, Atomic Energy of Canada Limited: to be a member and President, vice C. J. Mackenzie, resigned. 1962. Mar. 22, W. M. Gilchrist and J. L. Gray: to be members for a further term of three years from Apr. 1, 1962.

Bank of Canada.—1961. Dec. 1, John Robert Beattie: to be Deputy Governor for a term of seven years from Jan. 1, 1962. 1962. Feb. 8, Frederick Field, Vancouver, B.C.; Hervé Baribeau, Lévis, Que.; C. Hedley Forbes, Fredericton, N.B.; and Stephen N. MacEachern, Saskatoon, Sask.: to be reappointed directors for a term of three years, commencing Mar. 1, 1962. William S. Perlin, St. John's, Nfld.: to be a director for the remainder of the term of George Graham Crosbie, resigned, namely to Feb. 28, 1963. Feb. 16, R. W. DeWolfe, Wolfville, N.S.: to be a director for the remainder of the term of J. H. Mowbray Jones, resigned.